Alfred's spAcE

2009.11.05

print job stuck with shared printer

Filed under: Computers and Internet — Alfred Yang @ 04:50
  This is a weird problem. My printer is HP LaserJet 1020 plus which has only a USB connection. I install its driver and share it with "List in the directory". At first, everything goes well. Recently others cannot print anything with my printer with printing jobs stuck in the queue. If I restart "print spooler" service, the queue will be processed. Then the new job still will be stuck. However I can print well locally. I google a lot about "printing job stuck", but nearly all threads is about "delete stuck jobs", not how to solve the stuck. Today, by chance I notice the printer properties in "port" tab, a checkbox about "enable bidirectional support". It’s checked. Google result show this is something about sharing. So I uncheck it, the printer now work fine again. I don’t know whether these is some side effect.

  刚刚用中文搜,竟然也搜到了类似的问题,但是没有正确的解答方法;不过这个问题就算用英语搜,也很难找到相应的问题。或者说,很难用合适的关键字,描述这个特定的问题。

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

